Love That Doesn’t Leave Us Alone

Dr. Michael LaitmanBaal HaSulam, Talmud Eser Sefirot (The Study of the Ten Sefirot) Part 1, “Inner Reflection,” Item 12: It is said: “He is One and His Name is One.” “His name” stands for Malchut of the World of Infinity, i.e., of the desire to receive, an inseparable organic part of the reality that was originally included in the thought of creation.

The Light descends through five phases: from phase zero to phase four (Malchut of the world of Infinity). This process can be presented either as a sequential progression or in the form of concentric circles. In either case, the main thing is the progress. With each step, revelation of the Light becomes more intense, the desire manifests and gets clarified more, it feels and attains more.

Love That Doesn’t Leave Us Alone

As a result, the fourth phase receives the Light of Infinity without limitations. In other words, the creature wants to receive all of the Light not restricted by anything at all, neither by shortage nor by excess  It’s an ideal state that can be described as giving a glass of water to a thirsty man. One glass is exactly what he needs to satisfy his thirst, not more and not less. The amount of water is precisely sufficient to satiate his thirst. There is nothing left, nor is there a need for more water.

This is what the Creator prepared for us: a permanent state of “Malchut of the world of Infinity,” which we have to attain at this time of our evolution. For that, our desire has to exactly match the Light and be accompanied by the corresponding intention, in unity, in perfect harmony.

In general, it’s about the process of establishing correct relationships between the Creator and the creature. It’s because the fourth phase senses everything that is going on with it; it feels that it receives the Light, it senses the Creator’s attitude. All of it is given for the creature with the exception of its own reaction to what is happening. The Creator gives the desire to receive everything that He originally conceived, completely fills it with feeling, attitude, and goodness. Having received all this, the fourth phase becomes closed in itself and starts developing on this basis as it now has all three necessary parameters:

  • The desire to receive;
  • The desire to please, meaning the Creator’s love and good attitude;
  • The pleasure that fills it.

In other words, there is me who strives to receive, there is the pleasure that I get, and there is a sensation of the loving Giver. These factors begin working inside me. If I didn’t feel the Creator’s love, I would simply keep enjoying myself without limits. However, love “spoils the whole thing”: Apparently, besides pleasure there is something that requires my response. It doesn’t “leave me alone,” and I begin the journey.
From the 3rd part of the Daily Kabbalah Lesson 4/12/2013, TES

Related Material:
The Central Point Of The Universe
Playing With The Infinite Light
From Love To Hatred And Back To Love

Discussion | Share Feedback | Ask a question Comments RSS Feed