An Imprint Of Spiritual Attributes

702.02Question: Why are spiritual senses named exactly the same as our corporeal senses: sight, hearing, smell, etc.?

Answer: We call the five corporeal senses in our world: sight, hearing, smell, taste, and touch. And in the spiritual world, naturally, there are no eyes, mouth, tongue, or hands, but only desires.

But each desire is tuned to a certain reception, a certain feeling of some attribute of the Creator. And so we call them after the image of a person in our world. After all, a person is like a lowered stage of the soul.

The soul is completely in the spiritual world and there are no physical organs in it, there are only desires. And only those desires that are aimed at the light of Hochma, the light of Hasadim, etc., which are also called eyes, ears, nose, mouth, etc. Our corporeal bodies are built in this image.

By studying the wisdom of Kabbalah, you will see how spiritual attributes gradually descend to the level of our world and leave their mark, their imprint in our matter. We are their outcome in the corporeal world.
From KabTV’s “Fundamentals of Kabbalah” 4/7/19

Related Material:
Perceiving The Hidden Realm Of The Universe
How Does One Reveal The Spiritual World?
Crossing Machsom

Discussion | Share Feedback | Ask a question Comments RSS Feed