The Four Phases Of Love

Dr. Michael LaitmanQuestion: Does love awaken automatically when we attain the fear of God?

Answer: We should constantly work on love. The levels by which we approach the goal of creation are called the four phases of love. It says, “love thy friend as thyself.” It doesn’t say that you should fear your friend first and then feel that you love him.

“Love thy friend” means that we always advance towards unity, whereas fear doesn’t lead to unity. We are always attracted to connection and love, and so we are in the process of attaining its four phases.

We speak about the proper attitude towards the Creator, towards the upper system, which responds to us thus helping us start our mutual work with the Creator, and not about corporeal fear that the Creator should give us health, money, success, and a happy life in this world and in the next world. It is only about acquiring the force of love and bestowal. Fear constantly leads to that; it is the fear of not attaining love.

If I already attain a certain level of love, I fear that I might lose it and not advance and not reach an even greater love. We must always yearn for love on the part of mercy and not on the part of Din (judgment).
From the Preparation to the Daily Kabbalah Lesson 3/14/14

Related Material:
“Fear Must Adhere To Love”
There Are No Two Loves That Are Alike
How Can We Be Afraid Of Someone We Love?

Discussion | Share Feedback | Ask a question Comments RSS Feed