Know All Forms Of The Upper One And Conform

Dr. Michael LaitmanDesire doesn’t unfold until it has undergone the four stages of development under the influence of the Light and reached a state of awareness, sensation of self, when it is able to make autonomous decisions and respond to the Light to a certain extent. This means that in any point of creation, wherever the “root” (zero) phase is found, it signifies bestowal from the Creator who wishes to cause a certain reaction in the creature, in “existence from absence” (Yesh Mi Ain).

Starting with phase zero, from the so-called “tip of the letter Yod,” it is necessary to pass through the four phases of HaVaYaH (Yod, Key, Vav, Key), or the first, second, third, and fourth phases of the Direct Light. Only at phase four (Behina Dalet) does desire respond.

At any place in creation, no matter what point we take in the entire universe, we will discover a zero stage in it: the Creator’s connection with some point “from absence” (Yesh Mi Ain). From it, affected by the Light, a will to receive begins to develop and has to undergo the four stages in order to form into a created being, start sensing, and respond to the effect of the Light.

Thus, everything starts from the “tip of the letter Yod,” “existence from existence,” the Thought of Creation, His thought. Then, it begins to work, and stages one, two, three, and four come to light or Yod-Key-Vav-Key, until we reach the fourth phase, Dalet that at this point experiences itself as existing.

Know All Forms Of The Upper One And Conform

There are two forces here, the leading and the led. Each of them is active and potential at the same time. The first three phases, zero, one, and two (Keter, Hochma, Bina) still pertain to the Creator. Stages three and four (Zeir Anpin and Malchut) refer to the creature.

A similar division can be observed later on in all spiritual objects, Partzufim, the worlds. The first three degrees (GAR) pertain to the thought or the program of the upper one. ZAT (Zeir Anpin and Malchut) refer to the lower one, the creature, where ZA serves as the adaptor between the upper one and the lower one.

The upper one is Keter. Its property of bestowal is Hochma (Wisdom). The form in which He wishes to bestow is Bina. The form in which He relates to the lower one is Zeir Anpin. This is a multidimensional relationship: Hesed, Gevura, Tifferet, Netzah, Hod, Yesod, Malchut. As to Malchut, it is matter that absorbs all the previous forms since it wants to know and construct them within it in order to gain the form of the preceding phases.

Thus, Malchut implements this act internally. Hence, it needs to experience all of the previous phases, receive an impression from them, conform, and develop the desire to be like them. Thereby, in response, it creates an identical connection to the root, becoming the root itself.

The creature cannot unfold until all the four phases have come before it. It’s only at the last, Dalet, phase of development, when I have both desire and intention (meaning that everything comes from me), from here on, we can talk about the creature. Until then, there are only the properties of the Creator whereby He builds creation.
From the 3rd part of the Daily Kabbalah Lesson 5/26/2011, Talmud Eser Sefirot

Related Material:
Two Sides Of The Thought Of Creation
The Creator In The Eyes Of The Created Being
Why Does Everything Exist?

Discussion | Share Feedback | Ask a question Comments RSS Feed